Life In The Fibro-Lane

How Does Weather Affect Fibromyalgia Sufferers?

 

 

I love it as the cooler weather creeps in and Fall is in the air. I can smell the woodsy burning fireplaces and campfires. The crunch of leaves as they drift from the trees. The nights cuddled under thick blankets as the temperature drops. It’s my favorite time of the year.

But I’m discovering that my body is forming a mutinous revolt. The aches are deeper. The stiffness is stiffer. My fingers form into vulture claws. My feet do likewise. The headaches are more persistent. The fatigue drains away my life energy. The depression darkens. The discouragement becomes a whispering voice in my ear. My mind and heart rejoices at the changing season, but my body says hell no!

Fibromyalgia can be difficult even in the best weather. After all, not only does it cause relentless fatigue and muscle pain, but it is also associated with a dozen (or more) other symptoms, including depression, dizziness, and nausea. If you have been suffering with fibromyalgia for a while now, you may have noticed that your symptoms tend to get worse during certain seasons and weather changes. A large percentage of FMers (my short hand term for fibromyalgia sufferers) claim that weather directly affects their symptoms and pain levels. I know it does mine!

In fact, many FMers claim that their symptoms vary according to temperature changes, changes in air pressure, and changes in precipitation. They experience changes in their:

  • fatigue
  • pain levels
  • headaches
  • muscle pain
  • the number of symptom flare ups
  • sleep disturbances
  • and more!

According to a study performed in 1981, a large percentage of fibromyalgia sufferers may actually be sensitive to changes in the weather. In this particular study, 90% of patients claimed that weather was one of the most important influences on their fibromyalgia symptoms. And fibromyalgia sufferers aren’t the only ones to experience weather-related symptoms. You may also find that the weather exacerbates your symptoms if you have:

  •  rheumatoid arthritis
  •  multiple sclerosis
  •  osteoarthritis

What weather factors affect fibromyalgia?

There are five major weather factors that appear to affect fibromyalgia symptoms. These include:

  •  Temperature: Rapid changes in temperature can sometimes trigger a fibromyalgia flare or help to ease fibromyalgia pain. Cold weather tends to make fibromyalgia symptoms worse, while warmer weather tends to ease those troublesome symptoms.
  • Barometric Pressure: Barometric pressure is a measurement of the weight that is exerted by the air all around us. On beautiful sunny days, barometric pressure tends to be quite high, but during a storm or similar weather front, barometric pressure drops suddenly. FMers often find that these changes in barometric pressure can trigger muscle aches and pains.
  • Humidity: Absolute humidity is a measurement of the amount of water vapor present in each unit of air. When absolute humidity is low, FMers often report headaches, stiffness, and flares in widespread pain. High humidity can have the same affect.
  • Precipitation: Precipitation is the term used to refer to any type of water that falls to the ground from the sky, including rain, sleet, snow, or hail. Precipitation is often accompanied by a change in barometric pressure, and therefore may exacerbate your symptoms of pain and fatigue.
  • Wind: Whether it’s a light wind or a gale-force wind, wind generally causes a decrease in barometric pressure. This means that wind can trigger fatigue, headaches, and muscle aches in fibromyalgia sufferers.

Fibromyalgia studies about weather

Numerous studies have been conducted in order to evaluate whether or not fibromyalgia symptoms do appear to be influenced by changes in the weather. Most of these studies have had surprising results.

In 2002, a study was conducted in Cordoba, Argentina, where there are four distinct seasons every year. The study involved fibromyalgia sufferers and a healthy control group and aimed to find out whether pain symptoms could be linked to specific weather changes. Participants were asked to rate their pain symptoms on a scale from one to ten, every day for 12 months. After 12 months, these symptoms were correlated to weather patterns for the entire year. Researchers found that pain symptoms of the participants with fibromyalgia correlated directly to weather changes. Specifically, pain increased as temperatures fell and atmospheric pressure increased. The healthy control group did not show any correlation between pain and weather patterns.

Another study performed in Norway found a similar relationship between fibromyalgia symptoms and the weather. Fibromyalgia symptoms appeared to get worse during the months of December and January, but began to improve during April and May. This suggests a direct relationship between colder temperatures and lower barometric pressures and a rise in fibromyalgia symptoms.

Why does weather affect fibromyalgia symptoms?

Unfortunately, researchers aren’t very clear on this answer. They have conducted studies that show potential positive correlations, but nothing definitive, yet. However, there are a few possible explanations (and I’m sure many more to be discovered):

  • Change in Sleep Cycle: Weather, particularly hot and cold temperatures, can sometimes affect the way in which you sleep. This could have a great affect on symptoms and flares if you are a fibromyalgia sufferer.
  • Change in Circadian Rhythm: Your body operates using an internal clock known as the circadian rhythm. Changes in seasons and the amount of light that your body receives can throw off your circadian rhythm, causing you to feel fatigued and more achy then usual.
  • Pro-Inflammatory Cytokines: There does appear to be a relationship between low temperature levels and an increase in the number of pro-inflammatory cytokines in the body. These cytokines appear to be related to pain intensity.

Dealing with the weather: Managing your fibromyalgia symptoms

If you find that your fibromyalgia is influenced by weather, here are a few tips to help keep you more comfortable.

  • Dress in layers. Prepare for those chilly days by dressing in two to three thin layers. This will keep your body warm and allow you to shed extra clothing if you get hot. Perfect for these Fall days with cooler mornings and warmer afternoons and then cooler evenings.
  • Avoid cold temperatures. I find that the cold really exacerbates my symptoms (but I also hate the heat and sweat like crazy if too warm – a crazy circle). Try to keep your air conditioning off in your house during the summer (not recommended if you have allergies), and keep your heat up during the winter months. If you have to go outside in the cold, wear gloves, proper boots, and a hat. This will help keep your extremities warm and prevent aches and pains.
  • Bring the sunshine inside. If you are finding that you are particularly fatigued or depressed, try to increase the amount of light you have inside of your house. During the gray winter months, it is easy to become depressed and tired, which will only make your symptoms worse. Purchase some halogen bulbs or a special light box to help improve your mood.
  • Use an electric blanket in bed. I use an electric blanket to warm my muscles up before I get out of bed in the morning. It helps ease the stiffness and aches and pains. Makes getting out of the bed a little easier, too!

Do you find weather affects your fibromyalgia symptoms? What kind of weather bothers you the most? What are your tips for dealing with it? I’d love to hear from you!

 

13 Comments

  1. Monique"s Fibro Community

    Hello… I love this time of year but have also found the Fibro is in disagreement with me on that. My sensitivity to any kind of cold and/or chilliness continues to get worse with every fall and winter that comes by.

    • Kat

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by! I’m finding the same thing. As much as I love Fall and Winter, my body isn’t liking it so much anymore. But that’s what electric blankets, hot showers, fire places, hot mugs of cocoa, and more are for! 🙂 I pray winter is easier on you this year.

  2. Ginger Ray

    I am with you girl. Thanks for going in detail for us. Always remember that we are in this together.

    • Kat

      It’s so frustrating, Ginger, but I’m working through it. This is the worst year I’ve ever had so far. It’s comforting to know that others share in the journey with me. 🙂

      • Ginger Ray

        :0)

  3. My heart says to make dried apples, apple pie filling and my fibro makes even peeling the apples so painful. The barometric pressure is high today so I don’t feel like my body is in a vise however my skin hurts in the wind. The exact wind that brings the smells of fall and the one I love most the burning of wood fires is so painful for me it takes my breath away.

    The journey we share is helped by the emotional support we have for each other. As a fibro sufferer for over 40 years now (since age 14) I understand that there are few who ‘get it’. I understand we are not understood or accepted since our disability is not seen. ((gentle hugs)) to all

  4. Mary

    Hi, I too have a terrible time in the cold. People laugh at me the way I bundle up so much and my bones are still frozen. I also have trouble in the summer months. I can’t take the heat anymore. It is at the point that I can not breath and hurt so bad. I can’t move until it cools off at night even with the a/c running all day. Does anyone else have this problem?

  5. Paula Glen

    Thanks this is really intersting! I have been diagnosed for nearly two years now – and get so frustrated, as doing really well for a few weeks, (its summer here in New Zealand) and then we all of a sudden drop to a cooler grey day and I feel fatigued and achey – I dont feel cold, just have the symptoms – our house is still about 22 degrees c, …. I wish there was a magic fix – like a uv light – would that help?? I am trying to reduce my medication I take, but finding on the lower dose I seem so much more succeptable to these weather fluctuations..

  6. Lisa Ryan

    I found my symptoms have worsened living in Alberta, where winter reigns for close to seven months of the year. I have ended up on T4s to help ease the relentless pain I am in, and find when I go home to Vancouver for visits where I am from originally, I have more energy and can spend my days walking, jogging, and have more energy in general. I seem to feel better in a more humid environment, and wish I was able to leave where I am living . Tanning beds help but probably aren’t the best. Had I known the cold would affect me so I would have not left BC.

  7. Jane

    Hi. I am 43 years old and have had fibro for nearly 7 years. I live NW of Chicago. It started with a sore big toe that did not get better and within 10 months, 16 of the pressure points hurt. I tossed out the drugs 2 1/2 years ago because they made me a zombie and after being fed up with condescending MDs I began seeing a Naturopath. That made a difference. The fatigue is much more manageable. I eat differently – organic, no toxins, small amounts of meat, very little bread, avoid gluten and sugar. I detox regularly and no doubt feel better.
    Well, if anyone is familiar with this area you know that what we have is humidity all year. It is hot and humid or cold and humid. I tracked my pain for the MDs before I kicked them to the curb, and found humidity is my trigger. (By the way, WebMD cites studies that say common triggers are Cold/Humidity or Stress or Poor Sleep or Too Much/Too Little Activity). This is still true, but you learn to live with it right? Well I am starting to lose it.
    In 2012, we had record breaking warm and drought here. It was shorts and t shirts at St. Pats day and dry, sunny and hot for months- until about October. I was in heaven! I was playing with my 8 year old, cleaning the closets, planting flowers, cooking outside, actually having ssex with my husband, (excuse me), and I laughed!! My son thought he had a different mama!
    Fast forward to today. I am down. Been down since Valentine’s Day. I function only about 6 hours per day and get the bare minimum done. The weather changed dramatically and the snow and rain have been relentless. I wake myself when I roll over from the pain, and guess what? Three days ago the hip pain points joined me! I now have all 18! The hip pain is excruciating. What is making this last may be the fact that we usually get a few ‘spring days’ in Jan and Feb to break things up, but we have not gone over 40 where we liove.
    We have decided to relocate to Colorado. We have taken several trips there over the past few years during all seasons and I am a new person in a couple of days.
    I know everyone’s trigger is different, but mine is humidity. I have read so many Fibro blogs and sites over the past years but never posted. I am now because I am wondering if anyone else has had this experience? My husband is wonderful. He will move, he wants to get a hot tub because that helps when I can use one, in short he is everything I could want. I feel guilty I guess. Even though this move will be good because I will be a stronger wife and mother, and I know that God is leading me, I feel lousy. I have a child who will remember his mother in bed or on the couch, and a husband without a wifeto meet his needs. I guess I just needed to lay this out for someone who understands. Thank you all. May God be with you in your pain.
    Jane
    John 3:16

  8. teresa

    COLD!!!! ugh

  9. Blue

    I seize up with muscle pain from the cold but can’t layer up too much because the heat I then generate leaves me sweaty and faint. It’s a challenge to keep the balance right as I move from room to room and indoors or out. It’s a kind of cold sweat that makes me uncomfortable and sticky whilst still feeling chilled. I try to keep my temperature just a tad low and cope with the muscle pain rather than risk being sticky and faint.

  10. A late response; i have found myself having more flaire-ups in warm/hot weather the last 10 years….I can’t take a sunbath anymore! This winther, witch one likes to keep on, i have troubble with the cold to!! The same as you; i love autumn……

Share your thoughts